Does this job get easier with time?

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by pinkcupcake90, Mar 19, 2017.

1. pinkcupcake90

pinkcupcake90 Companion

Mar 19, 2017

Hi, everybody.

I'm a second year teacher who got hired through alternate route. I can't begin to tell you how much I love this job, but I. Am. Exhausted.

I actually have an anxiety disorder. I'm always worried about work, especially prepping the lessons. My goodness, I get so nervous in the morning before going to work because of the amount of prep I have to do.

Is it normal to feel anxious before going to work? Will I learn how to relax as I get more situated in this career? I kind of cry on Sunday nights because I'm not ready to face it all again. I love this job so much, but it's so much work and I don't sleep well because all I can think about is school. :(

Help!

newbieeducator likes this.
  3. Linguist92021

Linguist92021 Phenom

Mar 19, 2017

YES!! It does get easier over time, year and after year.
    I was very anxious and nervous during student teaching. First year teaching much easier but it was a controlled environment (juvenile hall)
    Second year was really y first year at a court school (think inner city) very anxious for at least half of the year. Towards the end I wasn't, then I started worrying, like being superstitious, that if I don't anxious in the morning, something will go wrong.
    Following year much more confident, and last year +this year I'm very confident and comfortable. For some people this can take or more time but I guarantee you that experience does make it easier.

4. mathmagic

mathmagic Connoisseur

Mar 19, 2017

You'll gain confidence in areas, hopefully raise your expectations in other areas, so while it might seem at times like it isn't getting better, it's simply that your expectations in yourself are higher.