Does it Look Bad To Miss Parent's Night?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Migajita, Dec 2, 2017.

1. Migajita

Migajita New Member

Dec 2, 2017

We have parent's night this Thursday. It's from 6:30 to 8:30 at night. I really don't want to go to it for many reasons. I live far away from the school and the school is located in a highly congested area. We get out at 3:00 PM and I don't want to stay in the school for 3 1/2 hours waiting for the parents to arrive. I can go home but then I will have to contend with the stress of the rush hour traffic when I make my way back to the school. I can get a hotel but then I have to pay for the room. Plus I will probably only get 8 parents visiting for the good students. It seems like a total waste of time. I am new in the school and I don't have tenure. I was thinking of taking a sick day or personal day this Thursday. Will this look bad for me if I skip out on this event? I haven't taken any sick or personal days so far this year. I attended the parent's night the last two years. This would be my first year missing it. Please let me know what you think.

3. a2z

a2z Phenom

Dec 2, 2017

Yes. It looks bad. You complain that parents don't show except for the parents of the "good students". So, what will that say to the parents of the good students if you choose not to show. Doesn't that lump you with the parents who are no-shows?

Bring your dinner and a book. Bring something to entertain you or to accomplish that you might have otherwise done at home. Find something near the school to do for a bit of time. Take a walk even if it is around the school. It is one time a year.

4. rpan

rpan Comrade

Dec 2, 2017

Yeah it’s bad look not to show. It’s part of the job even if it’s terribly inconvenient.

Tyler B. and Leaborb192 like this.
  5. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Dec 2, 2017