Do you give your students Christmas gifts?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by heavens54, Nov 23, 2010.

1. heavens54

heavens54 Connoisseur

Nov 23, 2010

I was at Walmart yesterday and they had all of these little stocking stuffer towys. Some were cute, I was tempted. This is my first year with my own students (20 something students in 5th) I am not sure what I want to do for my students this year, but buying some cheap pencil or eraser for them doesn't seem to be the answer. But what???

:dizzy: :help: :whistle: :dizzy: :help: :whistle: :dizzy:

3. clarnet73

clarnet73 Moderator

Nov 23, 2010

I teach preschool... in the past, I have generally given a book or two... if you use Scholastic, you can usually get books for $1 or $1.50, which makes them pretty do-able. One year when I hadn't ordered from them in time, I made playdough for my kids... I did several different colors and split it up, so each kid got a ball of 2 different colors... I gave them a small cookie cutter to go with it along with a pencil and a candy cane.

I'm not sure what I'd do with 5th graders, though :)

4. msmullenjr

msmullenjr Devotee

Nov 23, 2010

I know its not exciting, but I give my students a Skip a Night pass for Christmas. They love them.

5. gigi

gigi Groupie

Nov 23, 2010

I use the cheaper books on Scholastic as gifts, candy cane, some years some McD's coupons...(I teach K)

6. kcjo13

kcjo13 Phenom

Nov 23, 2010

As a parent, I strongly dislike cutesy little gifts that will end up in the back seat of my car, on the floor of the living room, or in my washing machine within a couple days. I say give them something school related and useful, such as a free night of HW, or maybe bonus points on a quiz, or eat lunch with the teacher.