Do first year teachers have time to exercise??

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by englishteach7, Nov 6, 2010.

1. englishteach7

englishteach7 Companion

Nov 6, 2010

I am wanting to lose those pesky last 10 pounds and tone up! I've been packing healthy lean cuisine meals and eating healthier, but I still feel like I need to tone up and exercise in order to meet my goal weight. I just can't imagine how I'd fit it in. I have a 45 minute commute to and from my school that I teach. I'm a first-year teacher and a mom to a 3 year old. I have a rather large house to try and keep clean. I just want to fit in exercise somehow. Was thinking about joining a gym that is located alone my commute 8 minutes away from my house. I don't know if I'd stick with it though due to being so busy. Any suggestions?

3. SoReady2Teach

SoReady2Teach Comrade

Nov 6, 2010

4. englishteach7

englishteach7 Companion

Nov 6, 2010

Thanks for the links. I was thinking about joining the gym. I have no time for exercise during planning. I try to get as much planning and grading out of the way during planning because I have a 3yrold at home and cannot get much done at home!

5. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Nov 6, 2010

You can exercise if you make time for it. I'm sure that you can get a workout DVD and do it once your child is in bed. You can also maybe take a walk around school during your lunch or before/after school.

I'd also stop with those Lean Cuisine meals. They're not very great for you, even if they are low-cal. They usually have lots of sodium, which isn't good for you. Eat fresher foods, more fruits and veggies. That'll help.

6. SoReady2Teach

SoReady2Teach Comrade

Nov 6, 2010

Check in your area if there are any health clubs that have special pricing just for district employees. A local health club here has a special price of $30 a month with no initiation fee just for teachers.

7. englishteach7

englishteach7 Companion

Nov 6, 2010