Discouraged/Depressed :(

Discussion in 'Prayer Request Forum' started by Alyssa20, Dec 6, 2017.

1. Alyssa20

Alyssa20 Rookie

Dec 6, 2017

I've been very depressed lately due to the CSET Subtest II :( if you look at my prior posts...they're mainly all about that. What has made me more depressed is that many CSU's have passed the Liberal Studies CSET Waiver (Liberal Study Graduates don't have to take the CSETS). I just graduated this past May with a degree in Child Development. The reason why I majored in Child Development is because it used to be (until just recently) that everyone had to take the CSETS regardless if you were a Libs major. I figured I would get my degree in Child Development in hopes that employers will see this and keep me with the younger kids (K-3), and if I couldn't pass the CSET then I could still work with kids.

But now...I feel like it's just a slap in my face...the year I graduated is the year that they implemented a liberal studies waiver. I'd much rather take math/science courses any day than take exams. I passed my HS and College math/science with B's and C's, and that was because it was a class where we had plenty of homework/review to help us. But with the CSET Subtest II I feel lost...so much material to cover...with no homework to back me up and no teacher to ask for help. I've been feeling desperate, that I even contacted a few CSU'S to see if I can get a 2nd bachelor degree. But to my luck....they don't allow students who already have a bachelor degree to get another one in a different subject. I feel hopeless...I began looking for Child Development careers only to find their salary to be completely ridiculous. The most they make annually is around $30-40k, and that's not enough to support a family and buy a house (especially in California). I honestly don't understand how Preschool teachers survive...I assume they all must have wealthy spouses.