Developing a Teacher's Voice

Discussion in 'General Education' started by GrooGrux King, Feb 8, 2015.

1. GrooGrux King

GrooGrux King Rookie

Feb 8, 2015

Hey everyone,

I am a second year teacher (I guess you can say first, since I long term subbed in two different districts for a year) teaching 10th grade in an urban school. My class...well.... it is a little out of control to put it kindly. About half the students do not respect me. I've talked to individual students who I have developed a strong relationship with and they recognize that I am clearly working my butt off and think I am a great teacher. At the same time, some say my voice isn't assertive(or stern) enough when it comes to disciplining my students. My principal believes that it is the students holding themselves back and nothing to do with me, but the poor behavior must stop. I have spoken to some of my colleagues and they say a teacher's voice develops with time. However, there are many days when I come home stressed out and thinking about leaving the occupation, even though I enjoy teaching. Others say I should look at the elementary level where my voice would be better suited to work with young children.

To the teachers of this forum: How did you develop your teacher's voice? Did it really come with time or was it something you practiced?

3. miss-m

miss-m Devotee

Feb 8, 2015

It really does take practice. There's a way to project your voice without yelling. For me, the "teacher voice" is deep, slightly louder than usual (but again, not shouting), and very firm -- monotone and probably a bit lower pitch than I normally talk. Usually arms crossed, eyebrows down, and no smile also helps get the point across that you mean business.
    It's almost like getting angry, but minus the emotional aspect of it, if that makes sense.
    Edit: Once the "loud" voice gets everyone's attention, switching to a quieter firm voice works well.

4. gr3teacher

gr3teacher Phenom

Feb 8, 2015