Delay accepting job offer to gather more info?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by allaphoristic, Apr 14, 2019.

1. allaphoristic

allaphoristic Rookie

Apr 14, 2019

Next year will be my third year teaching elementary school.

I've been teaching at the same school for the last two years, but I'm looking to transfer to a district closer to my home. Currently doing 45-hour each way. Not awful, but it's taking a toll.

I have an offer for position at a district 10 minutes away from home. When I interviewed, it was with a panel of 3 principals who had openings at their school. The panel interview and demo lesson took place at School A, my offer is for School B.

District HR has asked for me to make a decision by Monday. Would it be out of line for me to ask to observe at School B first? This will delay my answer by over a week, because the district is on spring break next week (HR will be in office though).

I've read over the union contract and talked briefly with a couple current coworkers who are familiar with the school. No overt red flags, seems similar to my current school. But I would like to visit.

Do you think this is something that would result in the offer being revoked?

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Apr 14, 2019

No harm in asking.

4. waterfall

waterfall Maven

Apr 14, 2019

I agree that it doesn't hurt to ask. I don't think they'd revoke the offer, but it's possible they'll say they can't wait that long so you need to make a decision without visiting first.