Dealing with a "babied" 7 month old

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by kellyal, May 19, 2016.

1. kellyal

kellyal New Member

May 19, 2016

I currently work in a room with one other teacher and we care for 8 infants, ranging from 7 months to 12. We recently got a new baby that is just learning to sit up by himself. He has obviously been carried for the past 7 months and no matter what we do, we can not get him to stop crying. We squirms if we hold him and he is not interested in any toys. We try to sing, read books, play, yet nothing we do seems to get him to stop being upset. I am very new to this job and would love any advice! Thank you!

3. ChildWhisperer

ChildWhisperer Devotee

May 19, 2016

Find out what he makes him happy at home, whether it's a song or a book or a toy and ask parent(s) if they can bring it with him. You can post pictures of his parents somewhere in the room so he can look at them too.
    Otherwise, (don't hate me!!) ignore the crying unless he has a real reason to be upset (hunger, diaper, hurt, etc.). Eventually he'll get used to daycare :)

MSYPLA and otterpop like this.
  4. a2z

a2z Maven

May 20, 2016

Why is that obvious?

Here is what the MayoClinic says about developmental milestones for 7-9 month old babies:
    http://www.mayoclinic.org/healthy-l...alth/in-depth/infant-development/art-20047086
    "By this age, most babies can roll over in both directions — even in their sleep. Some babies can sit on their own, while others need a little support."
    Since development is a range, it is not out of the range for a baby to still struggle with sitting throughout this time.

Also, the baby is in a new environment with new sights, smells, and sounds surrounded by unknown. Not all babies react to these changes well even without being carried all of the time.