Data in Schools

Discussion in 'General Education' started by MrK, Feb 14, 2017.

1. MrK

MrK Rookie

Feb 14, 2017

So I had a meeting with my AP today and we talked about forming PLCs in our school for next year and, lucky for me, they're using my department as the guinea pig. As he was going over the ideas of PLC, the thing that kept popping up was data, data, data. I already use data in formative and summative assessments, in common planning times, in behavior, in tracking tardiness, in standardized testing.... so on and so on. It's a buzzword I'm liking less and less as time goes on. I'm in my 3rd year and at my last school, we didn't have as much data tracking as I do now. I dunno....

I guess my question to y'all is do you think there's too much data in schools or not enough? Is it this decade's buzzword? Is it beneficial? What do you all think? I just want to get some insight and I like hearing opinions.

3. FrankFromFranklin

FrankFromFranklin Rookie

Feb 15, 2017

I teach in a school in Virginia where data is talked about every day. We have SOL tests and since we are such a small school literally every student counts. We do three "benchmark" exams before the SOL and I spend maybe 5-10 hours on each benchmark with my team and the admin. analyzing and going over that data. I have put the same data into so many different charts it almost makes my head explode. I cannot stand it

nstructor likes this.
  4. EdEd

EdEd Aficionado

Feb 15, 2017

I generally get frustrated with buzz words in general, but some are around for a good reason. I do think the emphasis on data is good, but we should remember that "data" is broader than just numbers from an assessment - it includes informal observations, etc. More formal, quantitative data has been under-represented in education for a while now, so I'm happy to see it in the spotlight, but sometimes we place too much emphasis on a specific number, without understanding the context of that number.