Dangerous Silence: How Arkansas Failed Me in My First Year of Teaching

Discussion in 'General Education' started by FourSquare, Sep 5, 2018.

1. FourSquare

FourSquare Fanatic

Sep 5, 2018

3. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Phenom

Sep 5, 2018

A good chunk of those things were ones that anyone should ask about before starting ANY job, not just a teaching job. Crying “but nobody helped me” doesn’t get you far with most people.

svassillion, agdamity and BioAngel like this.
  4. tchr4vr

tchr4vr Companion

Sep 6, 2018

I feel bad for her, but it seems that she went in with rose-colored glasses. She assumed that everyone would help her and she really did very little leg work on her own, which she admits. I have been an arts teacher (theatre) and while I did receive a stipend, it it no way covered the time I spent running the program. As a former performer, I really don't understand how she could not expect or understand how evenings and weekends would be expected--isn't that what you do as a performer? I do think it sucks that the District Orchestra thing was so badly run, and there was some definite bullying there. And a lot of things she is complaining about, especially in terms of charter schools, is well documented, even outside the education community. Teaching is very much a "figure it out for yourself" type of profession, which is not a good thing, but that is what it is.

As for you being demonized for expressing an opinion, that is a whole other problem. We all are entitled to our opinions, we all should be adult enough to accept that not everyone thinks the same.

5. ms.irene

ms.irene Groupie

Sep 6, 2018

Yep, sounds like what I've heard from people who work at charters.

"In-service training was a general meeting about “let’s all introduce ourselves and learn how to write a purchase order,” three days of “how to be an arts-integrated school,” one day of “how to use Adobe,” and a day of “get your classrooms ready!”"