CSET Subtest 3 Failure

Discussion in 'Multiple Subject Tests' started by love2teachsped, Jul 5, 2017.

1. love2teachsped

love2teachsped New Member

Jul 5, 2017

Hello,

This is my first time posting. This page seems like a bit of an oasis. I'm really depressed... I've taken the Subtest 3 five times and have failed. I continue to fail in the human development and art appreciation sections. I've studied the Cliff Notes CSET guide until I'm black and blue, stayed up hours, used quizlet on my phone to study throughout the day, but the moment the test comes, NONE of what I read in the book is shown on the test.

I received a call from the district right now informing me that my contract has been terminated until I pass this test. I can't take it until July 22nd, which means results won't be in until mid-August. I will not be starting the new school year.

I've been working with my district as a classified employee, then got my BA, and have been on emergency permit as I try to pass this final subtest. I've never been in this position where I feel like I've been totally dropped. I don't know if my emotions are getting the best of me, but I'm so depressed, feel alone, I feel like a complete failure, and so embarrassed. I'm a teacher and can't even pass this test. What kind of teacher am I?

I don't know what else I can do. I don't have anywhere to go or anyone to talk to. I'm in a big city, technically without a job now, no family, no spouse around anymore, and I just got the call that ripped my heart. Teaching is what gives me purpose and life each day that I wake up. I live for it, and now I feel like what I live for just got taken away, all because I'm too stupid to pass this test.

Sorry if I seem negative. I have no one to talk to, bills that are pilling up, creditors calling asking for money and now I am without a job and without the one thing that makes me get up each day.

Thanks for reading.

3. d_rose

d_rose Rookie

Jul 5, 2017