CSET Multiple Subjects:I passed, you can pass too

Discussion in 'Multiple Subject Tests' started by bteeple, Apr 19, 2005.

1. bteeple

bteeple New Member

Apr 19, 2005

Ok, so here's the thing. When I first encountered this website all I heard was "I failed" or "This is my 6th time taking the test" etc. I was worried to death about this test. It turned out not to be so bad. I took all three subtests on the same day, and passed them all in my first try. If I can do it, you can do it too. I studied for 6 weeks. The first four were very intense (2-3 hours of studying at least 5 days a week.) But I slacked off during the last two weeks because it was my bday and the following week I had guests in town...so I really only studied for 4 weeks.

I used the Cliffs CSET book as my main outline. This book is as boring as they'll get, but it was a good outline of what to expect.

With this book I used the scholastic books to study the topics in more detail. I also used brainpop.com (For history and science), answers.com, factmonster.com, and socialstudiesforkids.com

Using the cliff's outline, I made my own personal outline complete with pictures (haha, yes I'm an elementary teacher) But the pictures really helped me, and re-writing the outline was much more effective than just reading the Cliff's book. I only rewrote the outlines for the sections I really felt I needed to study more. (For me the history and science.) It took FOREVER for me to rewrite the history section.

Subtest III I studied the least for, hardly at all, in fact.

I also downloaded for $39 an online study guide called ACE the CSET. I would say it was worth the money because it had a lot of the same info as the Cliffs book but in a different format (games, crosswords, flashcards, etc.) So it was a nice break from the traditional study methods. It made it easier to buckle down and study for a longer period of time.