CSET MS Subtest 2- how I passed

Discussion in 'Multiple Subject Tests' started by SabrinaH, Mar 24, 2017.

1. SabrinaH

SabrinaH Rookie

Mar 24, 2017

Hello fellow teachers!
    I am writing tonight to report I finally passed CSET MS Subtest 2 after multiple tries. I am in absolute shock. It has been a long journey and extremely embarassing and demoralizing that I had to keep re-taking this test. I have my Bachelors and Masters degree and am accomplished in my career so I am not used to failing. I had a lot of other obstacles going on in my life in preparation for this test, so that didn't help either.

With that said, I want to offer advice/help to anyone still struggling with this or any of the CSET tests. I am serious when I say I completely lost ALL HOPE. I had to keep pushing because I really want to teach the kids, it is my passion. So, if I can do it, you can do it definitely!

I passed with +++ in both Science and Math but didn't do so hot on Constructed Response.

Here's how I did it:

1) Cliff Notes CSET Multiple Subjects with CD Rom 3rd edition. Buy this book on Amazon.
    Trust me it's worth it. I have bought ALL of the study guides, trust me on this, and this is the best one. This should not be your only source however, but the questions in this book and on the CD-Rom are pretty much the closest you should get to the real test questions. Learn the content in the text and do the practice tests in the text. Then spend most of your time doing the practice tests on the CD- Rom as they are GOLD. The Constructed Response tests on this CD Rom don't work (they are outdated or something when I contacted Tech support) which is annoying but this book is still worth it. The 4th edition of this book is coming out in May, 2017 so for those of you waiting til late Spring or Summer to take your CSET, it might be worth waiting for the 4th edition as I understand it is better aligned with Common Core.

2) Master the CSET Practice Test on the CTC Website.