CSET English Subtest I - Help

Discussion in 'Single Subject Tests' started by Joseph112, Aug 23, 2017.

1. Joseph112

Joseph112 Rookie

Aug 23, 2017

I recently took subtest I of the English CSET Exam, and failed. I pretty much studied the REA Book, and it was horrible. I looked at Elmer's study notes too. None of the guides, terminologies, or concepts were relevant to the actual exam--let alone useful. And, I mean "nothing" was useful. Not one single term. So, basically I studied the wrong material because the book is inaccurate. Does anyone know any good books, sources, materials, or reviews to tackle the CSET English exam? I just ordered the Cliffnotes Prep book in hoping that it will at least be relevant to the test. I have a BA in English Literature from UCLA if anyone needs a picker-upper, and I still cannot pass.

Please Respond.

TLDR; Failed CSET English exam, looking for new accurate material--preferably from someone who has recently taken the exam and passed.

3. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Aug 25, 2017

How long ago was your BA? How are you generally as a taker of multiple-choice tests?

4. KathCA

KathCA New Member

Sep 7, 2017

I took it in March of this year and passed, but I don't have any great/different recommendations for you. I mainly used the REA book and also took the practice tests on the CTC and Teachers Test Prep sites.

5. DAH

DAH Companion

Sep 8, 2017

Joseph, take a look at TeachersTestPrep.com. They may have what you're looking for.

6. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Sep 9, 2017