Correcting Speech

Discussion in 'Fifth Grade' started by mandymay, Dec 3, 2011.

1. mandymay

mandymay New Member

Dec 3, 2011

I'm a new teacher in 5th grade. There are only two classes in 5th grade and the other teacher is new as well. It has been quite an experience so far. We have very different teaching styles, but it works well. I teach social studies and math while she teaches language arts and science. We both teach reading to our own homeroom classes. Lately an issue has come up in which she feels that we should be correcting their speech when they use 'like', 'um', 'well' etc. while speaking or answering a questions. She will have the student rephrase what they want to say in "correct English" and even write their incorrect version on the board and use it to teach correct grammar. As the language arts teacher, I understand why she would do this. I however do not feel that I should be spending time correcting their speech as long as I understand their meaning. I am more concerned with their content. I also have a couple students who have trouble with oral expression so they struggle to get things out and will say "um" and "like" as they try to process what they want to say. I actually do this myself as I have trouble with oral expression at times.
    Usually we both try to reinforce what the other is doing so that things are consistent. I am just wondering if I should correct them to keep the consistency or just leave it alone if they are able to clearly get their meaning accross. To be honest, I often don't notice when they use "like" or "um" as I'm usually focusing on what they are trying to say to me. Any opinions on this?

3. comaba

comaba Cohort

Dec 3, 2011

Seems petty to me, and I wouldn't want to embarrass a student by writing his incorrect grammar on the board to correct.

4. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Dec 3, 2011