Controlling the kids

Discussion in 'Behavior Management Archives' started by MrT, Nov 9, 2006.

1. MrT

MrT Rookie

Nov 9, 2006

I have been subbing recently contemplating if I would like to teach. I graduated with a degree in computer science a few years ago, but after I got the job I kept asking myself is this what I want to do? The pay in the IT industry I discovered is not as glamorous as college kids are duped into thinking, jobs were hard to get, and IT jobs were most prominent in big cities.

I love subsitute teaching. Teaching is hard work, but I have always enjoyed working with kids.

Controlling the kids is the hardest challenge I have! I have become a lot better through experience. The first couple times I taught I got a D+ for the day. Kids were out of control, the principal and other teachers were coming into my class to control the kids, a very embarrasing situation.

I have taken 0 credit hours of teaching. I have never been a parent, I have no clue how to control kids, but I am learning the hard way through my own mistakes. I don't like to raise my voice, but I am finding out it really helps. I don't like to be mean, but coming on strong sets the tone of the class. I assign homework If the kids are too loud. I don't like doing it, but it really helps the next time I sub that class; they know what to expect if they are noisy. I make the kids stay after class a couple minutes if they are noisy. I felt awful taking away recess from one of the students, but it was the only way I was able to regain control of a 5th grade class.

Elementary is by far the hardest for me to teach. I thought it would be the easiest. I fiqured at that level they are learning all easy stuff. I never thought controlling the kids could be a problem. They don't pay attention to me, in middle and high school I will raise my voice, but elementary students are too little for that; punishment has to be much more creative.