Contracted teacher, but this school is tougher. What do I do?

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by LittleShakespeare, Oct 12, 2017.

1. LittleShakespeare

LittleShakespeare Rookie

Oct 12, 2017

This is my third week at my new school. I'm a contracted teacher now, so I know that I should be grateful. At my old school, I was only a long-term sub making $120 a day and treated like garbage by a majority of the contracted staff members. One of them actually told me to go back to my country. Now I am contracted with benefits, so life has been easier. My anxiety is under control. I have an 80 minute prep period, and I don't have to take work home. I don't have a panic attack in the morning before school. My nights are spent reading Shakespeare and Vonnegut, whom I love. But I am having a hard time.

I work with a largely Hispanic community from low-income homes. I am a ninth grade ELA teacher with a block schedule. These kids are tougher than my old district. Not only are they rambunctious and loud, but they're really intrusive. One of them asked me if I was a virgin on my first day of school.

I know that I'm still so new to be complaining about my job. I DON'T HATE MY JOB. I DON'T HATE THIS SCHOOL. Please don't misunderstand me and say that I should find a new district or quit teaching altogether. People sometimes have normal frustrations at work.

I'm just not sure how I can bring my passion for books to these kids. I've been told that I'm too nice, but when I'm more firm, the kids act out more. I'm not sure what to do.

3. miss-m

miss-m Cohort

Oct 12, 2017

Firm doesn’t equal mean; kids act up when you crack down because they’re testing you. Stick to what you say consistently - it may be weeks or months for some of them - and it will improve.

Find out what interests and motivates them. It might not be Shakespeare and that’s ok; link it back to what they’re interested in.