Contract Not Being Renewed

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by tigger88, Jan 16, 2015.

1. tigger88

tigger88 Rookie

Jan 16, 2015

Hey Everybody,

I am a first year teacher and I was called into the office at the end of the day today and was told my contract is not being renewed. All my P would say was that it wasn't the "right fit." I know that I made several mistakes with being a new teacher BUT I didn't think that it would be bad enough not to be renewed.

I am not as upset about it as I thought I would be (although it could just be I'm still in shock and it hasn't really sunk in yet!). I work with six other 2nd grade teachers and we all get along great. I am really going to miss working with them!

Not really looking forward to getting back out there trying to get a teaching job BUT I guess I will have to :(

I guess I don't really want any advice just wanted to vent my frustration. I am glad they let me know early enough I can start looking for another open position!!

3. comaba

comaba Cohort

Jan 16, 2015

I'm so sorry. It is good that they let you know early, and since the reason is the "fit", I wouldn't hesitate to ask for a letter of recommendation.

I wish you much luck in your job search!

4. gr3teacher

gr3teacher Phenom

Jan 16, 2015

See if you can get your principal to let you resign without prejudice. That will make your life easier when applying for jobs.

5. wldywall

wldywall Connoisseur

Jan 16, 2015

Resigning without prejudice is your best best, can't hurt to ask

6. vickilyn

vickilyn Magnifico

Jan 16, 2015