Constantly repeating myself

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by CDOR79, Jan 9, 2019.

1. CDOR79

CDOR79 Comrade

Jan 9, 2019

Is it just me, or do you find yourself having to always repeat yourself to your class?

I feel like students are so “checked out” and detached from the moment, they don’t hear what is said and ask it to be repeated a thousand times. This goes for directions, to questions I’m asking them, or even with daily routines. My class switches to other classes (rooms) in the morning. It’s now January and they still come back in the room, plop down at their desk, and chat with a peer instead of unpacking their books and getting ready for the next lesson.

I’m by no means a pushover and they know what the routines are, but yet I still have to repeat. This is my first year in 5th grade. I taught 3rd for 8 years before. I’m trying to figure out if it’s just this group of kids (not all- but many), if it’s their age, if it’s me, or what! Lol

3. bonneb

bonneb Fanatic

Jan 10, 2019

I had this problem in the past. I realized that I was TRAINING the kids to not listen by continually repeating things. First, use a phrase and hand signal that is the same every time. At my school, everyone uses the phrase "______ grade, may I have your attention please." The teacher raises her hand. Kids are to look at the teacher and raise their hands also. Those who don't catch it will eventually realize all their classmates are waiting for them and will comply. It takes some time to get this training done but it is sure worth it.

Another way would be to write the directions on the board and when a kiddo wants to know what is going on, just point to the directions. I also would teach them to observe what their classmates were doing if they needed to know what was going on. And I did allow them to quietly ask a classmate.

MissScrimmage and readingrules12 like this.
  4. YoungTeacherGuy

YoungTeacherGuy Phenom

Jan 10, 2019