conflicted and torn

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by teachertalk13, Jan 16, 2019.

1. teachertalk13

teachertalk13 New Member

Jan 16, 2019

Hi everyone, I'm having a little bit of a moral dilemma. I am a new(ish) teacher. My first year upon graduating was spent in an extremely stressful and toxic work environment. It changed me in ways I never thought teaching could, and despite the miserable working conditions, the kids touched my heart. However, as a newbie, I was slightly scarred from the way I was treated. I decided to take a break and take a part time teaching position for the year to focus on myself. Turns out, I didn't need as much time as I thought I would, and wound up being bored teaching preschool only twice a week.. so I took a job as a substitute teacher (per diem) on my days off from my other job. Now the per diem sub job wants me as a leave replacement, and keeps mentioning it might be a good idea to take it because there are many full time classroom teacher positions opening for the next school year. I feel like they are trying to set me up for something, but I don't want to get my hopes up. I'm not unhappy teaching pre-k part time, but feel like I'm now in a position to possibly move on to bigger and better things. My thing is, how do I leave my students in the middle of the year? I have such an amazing connection with the kids, their families, and my co-workers. It makes me feel sick to think about leaving, as I hate to let people down and don't want to disapoint anyone. I also know it's going to be extremely difficult to find a replacement, because other staff members have quit this year as well and it was a mess trying to find someone to cover. Despite all this, I still feel like it would be silly for me to pass up a better opportunity, but don't know if it's the right thing to do. The kids are young and I know they'll get over it, but how pissed off will the parents be? Everyone has been so great and coming from a situation that