Completely random question...

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out Archives' started by girlblue16, Jul 18, 2007.

1. girlblue16

girlblue16 Rookie

Jul 18, 2007

Not sure where to post/ask it.

Just curious if there are any teachers on the board who have IBS (Irritable Bowel Syndrome) and how you deal with it when you're teaching, the only one in the classroom, and you HAVE to go. Sorry for such a personal and possibly disgusting question, but I want to know I'm not alone. :eek:

I work as a Para now and will continue in that position until I get a permanent teaching job. So, I can leave the room whenever I want...for the most part. But as a teacher, that's not always an option.

Anyone have any insight into this?
    Thanks!

3. Proud2BATeacher

Proud2BATeacher Phenom

Jul 18, 2007

I would talk to a teacher next door to you or across the hall from you and see if they could watch your class when you have to go. More than likely they would do it and would also ask you to watch their class when they have to go.

4. FarFromHome

FarFromHome Connoisseur

Jul 19, 2007

I don't have IBS, but I drink a TON of water and always have to pee. Good thing my kids I student taught with had breaks every couple hours! I subbed in a junior high class where the teacher had 4 classes straight with no break-and it was finals week so the classes were even longer. I had to pee so bad when the 4th class go out!

I would ask another teacher like Proud2BATeacher suggested, or if it was really bad and you couldn't see anyone else-I would call the office and see if a secretary could come in for a minute. I would probably explain my situation before, in case you ever really had to leave.

5. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Jul 19, 2007

I agree with the other posters: talk to a nearby teacher and see if they can cover for you in an emergency.