Co-teacher welcome letters

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by jeepgirlsrock, Jul 18, 2016.

1. jeepgirlsrock

jeepgirlsrock Rookie

Jul 18, 2016

Hi all -

I'm a general education teacher and I'm going to be co-teaching with a PPCD teacher this coming year. I was wanting to know if someone could send me/copy and paste their welcome letters that they sent to parents so I can try to create one that includes myself, my aide and the PPCD teacher for Meet the Teacher night. Or did you send seperate letters? Any help would be appreciated!

3. mathteachertobe

mathteachertobe Cohort

Jul 18, 2016

I teach middle school math and have sections that are co-taught and sections that are not. I have a standard syllabus that goes home to families, so for the co-taught classes, I run it by my co-teacher to see if anything needs to be added or changed. Then on that version I have both our names and contact info. Our aide situation is not generally figured out by the first week of school, so I have never added any additional names.

4. jeepgirlsrock

jeepgirlsrock Rookie

Jul 18, 2016

Thank you! I have the same aide so that part isn't hard for me. Yet, I don't know if I should include a short bio about her to parents. She's a huge part of the classroom but everyone I talk to talks down about TA's and doesn't give them any say in anything. Wasn't sure what everyone else thought.

5. heatherberm

heatherberm Cohort

Jul 19, 2016

If you know who your aide is, include her. I was an aide for 8 years and I was always a part of the parent letter - actually, i usually wrote it :) - and it makes it feel more like a shared classroom. Everyone who talks down TA's probably isn't using their aide effectively or getting the best out of them.

ETA: Just to be clear, I'm not saying their TA's are bad, just think it's likely that the TA's don't feel very valued if the teacher they work with is talking them down. Even if they don't know it, they might feel it.

jeepgirlsrock likes this.