Classwork / Homework Grades

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by WordLover, May 17, 2017.

1. WordLover

WordLover Rookie

May 17, 2017

Hello - as a new teacher, I'm wondering if other teachers are recording daily grades for classwork and homework I've just finished a replacement leave position where it seemed I was constantly wearing myself out with assessing and entering grades. How do you assess homework and classwork? Any tips for making assessments minimally laborious?

3. ms.irene

ms.irene Devotee

May 17, 2017

This is my "system" that I have mostly borrowed from others, and has worked for me over the years. Generally, I don't spend (waste) time giving feedback in a way that puts the burden on me, and ends up being ignored anyway. I try to give that responsibility back to the students whenever possible:

Homework: I don't "grade" homework, just check off if it is complete or incomplete. I have them have it out at the start of class, and I walk around and check off the ones who DON'T have it. I have a copy of my seating chart in a plastic page cover (I forget the name of those thingies, the ones you can slip a page into and put into a 3-ring binder?) on a clipboard, and I mark with a dry-erase marker. I enter points daily, erase the page, and am good to go in five minutes or less. We go over and correct HW together as a class, and it is up to the student to pay attention and look for corrections.

Classwork: Occasionally I collect classwork for a grade, but not always. We go over it as a class, and once again, it's up to the student to check and correct their work. I'll collect it, but I don't always grade it, or not all of it. Just enough to keep them on their toes!