Classroom Management Question

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by bluedolphin9, Sep 13, 2017.

1. bluedolphin9

bluedolphin9 Rookie

Sep 13, 2017

So I am an early kindergarten teacher and I started at my job last month teaching summer school. I have these two girls, I'll call them Jill and Jane. They were in my summer school class and now they're in my regular class. They were behaved ok during the summer. Now they gang up and run around the room, jump up on the mats scream and sing. During lessons on the carpet they kick their legs. They talk back to me. When I reprimand them they look at each other and laugh. I haven't found something that works with these girls and am looking for advice. I have been calling in another teacher to lecture them but I don't want to do that, I want to manage them myself. Any advice would be appreciated!!

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Sep 13, 2017

Time out. In separate spaces. Let them know when they are ready to behave then they can return to the activity.
    Keep them as separated as you can
    Keep nailing them for their behavior-they are too comfortable with you and need to know you mean business.

4. MissScrimmage

MissScrimmage Fanatic

Sep 13, 2017

What did their parents say when you spoke to them about this behaviour?

5. bluedolphin9

bluedolphin9 Rookie

Sep 13, 2017

They said that they never got complaints before from other teachers. And they were ok during the summer, this just started last Friday. The one mom put her in time out at home but only for 3 minutes.

6. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Sep 13, 2017

The kids are in KINDERGARTEN. They didn't have too many teachers before you who would have notified parents. You need to get control of the situation TOMORROW. start giving consequences.

7. bluedolphin9

bluedolphin9 Rookie

Sep 13, 2017