Classroom management (aggression)

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by REW, Apr 29, 2018.

1. REW

REW Rookie

Apr 29, 2018

I have been trying to research this topic, but have come up empty handed. I’m a student teacher and seeking advice on how other veteran teachers have dealt with aggressive behaviors that severely impact the learning environment. Especially, if the student has been known to be aggressive to the teacher as well as other students.

FWIW, while I’m new to the elementary population I have taught preschool for over a decade. I’ve dealt with my share of aggressive behavior. I’ve always had an assistant who can help keep the other students on task while I address the behavior or vis-versa. How do I teach a whole group lesson or a small group when I have multiple students who are essentially ready to throw a punch at anyone for no reason. While I would do things differently from day 1 (like more documentation, involving admin- in case further evaluations can be implemented like EC or guidance services). Right now, this is negatively reflecting on my classroom management (or at least I feel like it is).

I’m a huge fan of figuring out WHY a behavior is occurring, times of day (triggers), and finding a plan from there. Sometimes it’s a rough home life (modeling what they’ve seen), a undiagnosed special need, attention seeking, and so forth. I have never encountered a situation where I can’t problem solve the behavior and improve it. They are all wonderful kids with good hearts, just need guidance. How do I balance tending to these needs, keeping my classroom safe, and still teach?

Hokiegrad1993 likes this.
  3. Been There

Been There Habitué

Apr 30, 2018