Classroom Management Advice

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by ovrslov, Feb 14, 2018.

1. ovrslov

ovrslov New Member

Feb 14, 2018

I graduated with my degree in December and landed my first job teaching Kindergarten in January. The classroom I took over had a teacher that did not enforce rules, had no structure, and basically let the students do as they please. The students fight, have no respect for adults, bully each other, and will not follow directions. They are very rambunctious, loud, and most of the time out of control. We struggle being able to finish even 1 lesson a day. I have practiced and practiced routines. I have created visual voice level charts. I've tried music as a cue that we are working quietly. I have rearranged seating. I have given incentives. I have taken recess time. I have sent to office if needed. I've contacted parents, use class dojo, and even send home behavior charts daily. It has gotten to a point where during our Valentine's party today, 2 parents were shocked at the way the kids behaved. They in no way blame me. Other teachers can enter my room and get them on task, but it only lasts 2-3 minutes. They struggle listening to almost every teacher and school faculty. I constantly have other teachers asking if I need them to come in and get them wound down. It's beginning to feel like maybe my classroom management skills are simply awful. So I guess I'm looking for advice on other strategies and techniques i could try to get control over my class. What works for others?

3. readingrules12

readingrules12 Fanatic

Feb 14, 2018

It sounds like you are working very hard in this difficult situation. You have been dealt a tough hand. I do think you can improve the situation.