CHARTER SCHOOL EDUCATORS - seeking opinions

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Ruby Slipper, Mar 13, 2018.

1. Ruby Slipper

Ruby Slipper Rookie

Mar 13, 2018

I'm seeking opinions from educators who have worked or do work for charter schools, specifically charter school organizations that are not attached to a public school district.

I'll share some background. I currently work for the second largest public school district in the country. I started in 2000. I began as a secondary substitute teacher, was a full time 'emergency credentialed' teacher for a year, went back to subbing, and eventually got my MA and school counseling credential in 2005. I've been working as a school counselor since then, the past 9 years at a large public high school.

During those years, I've learned a lot and become very disillusioned with the school district I work for, as well as the school where I currently work. The school is mostly a reflection of the district, though, so that's where the issue really lies. However, I have some seniority and job security with the district and am currently making a fairly decent salary, mostly thanks to a strong union push a few years back to break the moratorium on raises which the district had put in place for several years.

My disillusionment has lead me to look for work both within and outside of the district for the past several years. I've applied, unsuccessfully, to other schools in the district, and applied, also unsuccessfully, to other districts. I'm beginning to lose hope that I'll be able to make a positive change and leave the school where I currently work, and, possibly, leave the district.