Career Advancement

Discussion in 'General Education' started by whizkid, Apr 7, 2018.

1. whizkid

whizkid Companion

Apr 7, 2018

Is anyone else looking to advance his or her career in the future, maybe to K-12 administration, college administration or perhaps professor?

3. Master Pre-K

Master Pre-K Virtuoso

Apr 7, 2018

I worked as an Education Coordinator, where I went out in the field training and monitoring Head Start sites. I can see myself doing that again, but don't like driving around town all the time. I'd rather have a desk job in one office, 8-4pm or even 30 hrs a week, and eventually --- No Kids! I just come in and observe, help teachers with questions, talk to a few parents, and then fill out papers, and go home. Maybe sub for a class during trainings or occasional absence. I would help others work with kids, but less wear and tear mentally and physically for me. That's my goal.

futuremathsprof likes this.
  4. Always__Learning

Always__Learning Comrade

Apr 8, 2018

I'm curious what type of job in education has those parameters - 8-4, no kids, observe teachers, answer questions, talk to parents and fill out papers?

bella84 likes this.
  5. TrademarkTer

TrademarkTer Habitué

Apr 8, 2018

Sounds like a department supervisor position to me, though I dont think many of them stay until 4.....more like 3/3:30 most days.

6. Master Pre-K

Master Pre-K Virtuoso

Apr 8, 2018

In Head Start, there are many administrative positions that don't work directly with children. There is a Family Support person who is responsible for going out to the field and doing some well-being/home visits checks. I don't care too much for those. Did my share as a teacher. They also work with the community to find resources for parents, such as potential employment, health clinics, and housing programs.