Can I never expect pin-drop silence as a sub??

Discussion in 'Substitute Teachers' started by thesub, Nov 29, 2012.

1. thesub

thesub Comrade

Nov 29, 2012

Yesterday I subbed as an art teacher and had seven 4th grade classes trooping. Only one remained very quiet when I "threatened" to write them up for being too loud and I know their teacher is really big on discipline (subbed for her once). The other 6 couldn't care less and whistled, hummed or moved around.

I have been reading in this forum about discipline tactics like being strict with them right in the beginning and running a tight ship.
    This lasts only for 10 minutes and eventually the class noise gets louder and louder. I keep saying "if you can hear me, clap once" and I get only a few claps. I try writing 5 stars on the board and erasing them one by one for bad behavior but the students don't care.

I have been subbing for 6 years and v.v.few classes have been really quiet. I am always surprised how quiet they are when their regular teacher/specials teacher is in the classroom. Do i have to get even more meaner??? Do I report their bad behavior to the teachers - won't this mean that I am incapable as a sub? I don't want the teachers to be mad at me:wub::wub:.

Thanks so much,
    thesub

3. Linguist92021

Linguist92021 Aficionado

Nov 29, 2012

Yes, it's definitely possible. I'm with mostly high school, and somewhat middle school age kids, and had very limited experience with elementary age kids, but I don't think it should be much different in this respect.

I have seen classrooms doing their work in complete silence for 20 minutes at a time. They would do it more, but we'd switch activities, so I'm talking, asking questions, they're answering, etc, but everything is still in order. It can definitely be done.