Building a Teacher's Wardrobe

Discussion in 'Debate & Marathon Threads Archive' started by Preservice@USC, Jun 7, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Preservice@USC

Preservice@USC Rookie

Jun 7, 2007

I seriously need to build my professional wardrobe. Since I have begun my practica, I have found myself struggling to get dressed on the mornings that I have to attend a school. I have some dress pants and shirts, but I always feel overdressed. On the other hand, I cannot even consider wearing my jeans and Rainbow flip flops, but that is mostly what I have (I am a college student). I want to look nice and I want the teachers that I work with to respect me and think highly of me. How do I find that inbetween? How do teachers expect/want their student teachers and practicum students to dress? What are some good basics for an Elementary Education major who is in the process of building a professional wardrobe?

3. Steph-ernie

Steph-ernie Groupie

Jun 7, 2007

I would suggest seperates. Skirts (around knee length) and blouses usually work well.

4. annafish

annafish Companion

Jun 7, 2007

You want to look your age while still looking professional. Ann Taylor Loft has some nice pieces you can mix. They also have awesome sales if you go at the right time!

5. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Jun 7, 2007

Kohls also has a lot of stuff in a variety of styles. Their website is great, and shipping is frequently $5, no matter what you buy. Sign up and they'll send you notices about sales.

6. snickydog

snickydog Groupie

Jun 7, 2007

I like New York and Company for nice pants, and they have some nice basic tops, too. You can typically find coupons in magazines like Cosmo, and they have frequent sales, too.

7. Murphy1966

Murphy1966 Rookie

Jun 7, 2007

If you have a tight budget - try consignment shops. I've found excellent things there. Be prepared to find nothing, also. It just depends on your size and what's in the store at the time you shop.