Bossy Teacher

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by classicbeauty02, Sep 14, 2008.

1. classicbeauty02

classicbeauty02 Rookie

Sep 14, 2008

Hello! I am a teacher at a small school. I absolutely enjoy my job. I love working with children!! The only problem is that I have a super bossy co-worker.

She is bossy, aggressive, and it aggravates me to even see her coming. I am a first year teacher and I am the only new teacher at this school.

An example of something that aggravated me is that she came into my room while I was teaching and told me that I needed to get my students to come down and clean up the eating area. I told her that we had thoroughly cleaned up. Well, it turned out that it had been another class that had left a mess.

She seems to almost pick on the students in my class. During dismissal, she has to get on to at least one of them about something that is not a legitimate concern; almost like I am not doing my job.

It is crazy. I am not sure why she is like this, but she seems to single me out. Please give me some advice on how to handle this.:help:

3. giraffe326

giraffe326 Virtuoso

Sep 14, 2008

You just described my situation with my mentor perfectly.

The only thing you can do is ignore her. It is hard, but it will get easier for you. My mentor still criticizes things and I let it go in 1 ear and out the other (the other day she did not like how I arranged my desks :rolleyes:

If it gets bad enough, speak to your P as a vent. I did this (not to get the teacher in trouble) and was told that to save an arguement, just tell her "P said I could".

4. tchnzfun

tchnzfun Rookie

Sep 14, 2008