Being forced to resign...need help with new applications!

Discussion in 'General Education' started by purpleteacher4, Feb 6, 2017.

1. purpleteacher4

purpleteacher4 New Member

Feb 6, 2017

HELP! I am basically being forced to resign in order to not have a "non-contract renewal" next to my name on my record. (It is a VERY long story as to why I'm basically positive my contract won't be renewed, but I have no actual confirmation of that.) I'm working on applications to new districts hoping to have a job before I resign and I don't know what to put on the "Why did you resign from your previous position?" question. It is basically because I have had little to NO support this school year, and I'm brand new to a grade level that is much different than the one I taught in last year. My team leader makes my life a living nightmare and my principal constantly tells me what to improve on, but never gives me help and tells me how to go about making those improvements. Also, my school is not departmentalized for upper elementary grades (3-5) except for 5th grade it planning ALL of that is so hard (especially with no support). Any suggestions on how to answer that question?

Also, does anyone have any suggestions on when I should resign by or if I should? I don't know when all contract renewals go out, but I know that some have gone out to other staff members. I obviously don't want to resign without another job lined up, but the chances of that happening are very slim considering the time of year. But not resigning early enough has me run the risk of not having my contract renewed. Any advice is much appreciated!

3. waterfall

waterfall Maven

Feb 6, 2017