Behavior Management in inner city

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by Elvira, Jan 30, 2013.

1. Elvira

Elvira Rookie

Jan 30, 2013

Hello everyone :) I am studying to be a teacher but haven't had any placements. I will probably get placed for student teaching in an inner city high school (I teach Spanish) and I am really scared. I don't know how to deal with behavior management; my school never really talked about it much, unfortunately.

I come from a rural school where the kids, in retrospect, were pretty well behaved. My friends from the inner-city say that there were fights literally ever day (We hardly had fights at my old high school). One teacher had to go to the hospital because some student threw a book at her.

What groundwork do I need to set so that students don't misbehave from the start? What kind of rules do I have to have in place? What should I do and not do in terms of my demeanor with them? I've seen some Spanish teachers used cues like *ojos aquí* (eyes here) when students aren't focused. Are verbal cues effective? I have also seen teachers call on students that are not focused to try to 'bring them back'. Proximity control seems useful too.

Just, what happens if I can't get students to stop talking? What if a student outright disrespects me or makes a snarky comment? I've read that in a lot of the inner city schools, the principal's office is so overflooded with behavioral concerns that misbehaving kids just get send back to the classroom. What do I do when a student refuses to participate?

Sorry for the slew of questions, but I just don't feel very prepared. Any advice would be greatly appreciated! ;) i really want to teach Spanish and don't want to spend more time managing behavior than teaching!

EDIT: My old Spanish teacher said that the key to behavior management is to 'not give them time to misbehave'. Is this true?