Behavior in the classroom-worse now than they were 20 years ago, and why?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by massteacher, Nov 20, 2010.

1. massteacher

massteacher Companion

Nov 20, 2010

Hi All,
    I've been mulling this over the past few years and have been trying to figure out if others feel the same. I am still a new teacher..did a couple of LTS positions, supervised a 21st CCLC after school program, and now teach Elementary School. The behaviors that I've encountered in these past few years are nothing like I remember happening years ago. Although, I was on the student end of the stick so maybe my thoughts are skewed. Most students are still very well behaved, but I've encountered kicking/throwing pencils (isolated incidents, but have happened) pure disrespect and noncompliance. Have any of you experienced this, and do you think it's worse now than before, and what do you think the reasons are for this?

3. schoolteacher

schoolteacher Habitué

Nov 20, 2010

This is a thought provoking question.

I taught 20 years ago, left teaching to raise my three daughters, and have recently returned to teaching.

I find that I am having more discipline issues with students this time around.

After analyzing the situation, I have come to a conclusion. When I taught 20 years ago, the special ed kids in our district were placed in a self contained classroom.

Now, I have the inclusion class, and I have 7 students with IEPs.

It makes a HUGE difference in daily life in the classroom.

However, If 20 years ago I had had the special ed kids in my classroom, I do not believe I would be noticing much of a difference now.

4. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Nov 20, 2010

Long story ahead, sorry: