Bad idea to become a teacher?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by toby2, Jan 18, 2010.

1. toby2

toby2 New Member

Jan 18, 2010

Hello,
    I'm 29, hold a bachelor's in English/Journalism, and want to become a high school English teacher. But I'm always hesitant to take the plunge and enroll in certification courses. I have what many might consider a good job -- I am a curriculum developer for a private company that produces online education courses. I do enjoy the job, but I keep coming back to wanting to be in a classroom. It's as if I won't be happy unless I at least try it.

But I have many concerns. Mainly, I hear that teaching jobs are becoming exceedingly scarce due to the economy. The last thing I would want to do would be quit my job only to find teaching job openings non-existent. Also, I'm told that English teachers are not exactly in demand.

Can anyone here speak to the job situation, as well the availability of English teaching jobs?

Also, would my experience developing courses give me a leg up over other first-year teachers when it comes to credentials? I also intend to coach wrestling as well. Thanks in advance for the advice!

-

3. ChristyF

ChristyF Moderator

Jan 18, 2010