Anyone else feel like the CSET-MS was nothing like the practice tests on CTC website?

Discussion in 'Multiple Subject Tests' started by Lauren, Dec 21, 2016.

1. Lauren

Lauren Rookie

Dec 21, 2016

hello,
    I took the CSETs on Saturday. I studied from the cliffs notes CSET book and other sources (what your _ grader needs to know). I also did the practice tests on the CTC website. I studied for four months at least an hour a day.

The actual tests covered hardly anything I studied. I am at a loss about what to study, if I didn't pass. I have a feeling I didn't pass 2/3 of the tests. If I didn't pass, I don't feel like there was anything else I could have done.

I feel like the state is making it incredibly difficult to become a teacher. I'm just feeling discouraged and looking for some input. Thank you.

3. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Dec 21, 2016

I think you assumed that questions would exactly mimic the format and arrangement of the practice questions you've seen and cover all and only the topics you'd see on CSET-MS. I suspect you expected more questions that would ask you to define key terms and that you encountered a good many more questions with odd-sounding scenarios than you anticipated. Am I correct?

4. Lauren

Lauren Rookie

Dec 21, 2016

I figured the CTC would offer a practice test that prepared candidates to take the test. I knew it would not be the exact content, but yes, I naively assumed that the format would be similar. Why wouldn't the state of California want to accurately prepare the people who take the time to study and take practice tests? It doesn't make any sense to me. It'd be like a college professor giving a final on everything that's not been covered in the class.

5. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Dec 21, 2016