Anyone do official modeling in science?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Camel13, Aug 10, 2018.

1. Camel13

Camel13 Rookie

Aug 10, 2018

i just completed a three week modeling course in physical science. Transformed my idea of teaching! Wondering if anyone on this forum has tried or is doing modeling in their science or other classes. Would love to hear feedback or successes.

3. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Aug 11, 2018

Let me suggest that you sketch out how you mean "modeling": it could be you'll get some responses from people who are doing what you're doing but happen not to have heard of it under the name "modeling".

czacza likes this.
  4. Aces

Aces Comrade

Aug 11, 2018

Yeah I'm very confused as to what is being referred to as modeling. If op means the picture in a magazine kind then no I do not model with my textbook. (For op: I'm a hs science teacher for context)

WindyCityGal606 likes this.
  5. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Aug 11, 2018

:rolleyes:

6. Aces

Aces Comrade

Aug 11, 2018

I mean my bird leg and my fake leg that is currently Spyder themed would not be magazine worthy.

WindyCityGal606 likes this.
  7. Camel13

Camel13 Rookie

Aug 11, 2018

Oh goodness. I am not sure exactly the definition, but it is a process of teaching that engages students in a cycle of investigation, Socratic circle discussion and formulation of science concepts with a teacher acting more as a facilitator rather than using lecture, worksheets, or direct instruction. Using large whiteboards for students to draw diagrams and ideas of what they are learning is a key part. I am really excited about the process, but hoping to find some other folks who have delved in. This style of teaching has been around since the 1980s but this isn’t the first I had heard of it.

8. Aces

Aces Comrade

Aug 12, 2018

Oh. Then yes, at least partially. My classes are lab-based which are hands on activities.

9. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Aug 12, 2018