Any one else feeling discouraged?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by JoanPD, Aug 22, 2018.

1. JoanPD

JoanPD Rookie

Aug 22, 2018

I graduated and got my licensed in my state 2 years ago. I've had several interviews since then.
    After about 6 months, I got an offer and was asked if I could start in a few days. Later that same day I got called back and said, after calling my references, never mind they were looking for someone that had strong classroom management.

More interviews, and got an offer for a job at a school that was suppose to start next week. Got to meet the staff and some of the students, was shown my classroom and even got to start moving some things around. Said no to a long term sub position, since I thought I had a permanent position. Just found out due to some last minute restructuring of the district they don't have a position to offer me anymore.

When I do hear back from an interview, I frequently hear that I was a strong candidate, and would keep me in mind if they have any other openings, but are going with someone with more experience.

(I have had some interviews where I know I haven't done that well also, but I usually don't even hear back from them)

I'm just starting to feel discouraged. Anyone else feel that way?

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Aug 22, 2018

What experience do you have on your resume?

4. JoanPD

JoanPD Rookie

Aug 22, 2018

I have my subbing experience, where I student taught, the schools I was observing in when in the education program (4)

For non education experience my two retail jobs, the last of which I was at for 11 years.

5. Anonymous425

Anonymous425 Rookie

Aug 24, 2018

I feel discouraged too, but because I was looking for a para position for about three years. I finally became a substitute band hope this year goes well.

6. futuremathsprof

futuremathsprof Fanatic

Aug 24, 2018