Any ideas for first few weeks of preschool?

Discussion in 'Early Childhood Education Archives' started by buterfly, Jul 19, 2005.

1. buterfly

buterfly Companion

Jul 19, 2005

I was wondering if anyone has any ideas on what activities to do for the first few weeks of preschool. This is my first time being a preschool teacher and I'd love some tips on ways to start off the school year right. What activities could I do? I've gotten some great tips on this site from other teachers that suggested that I start the first week w/ freeplay and music and reading. How about after the children are settled in and are more at ease w/ being in school? What should I teach first? Should I start w/ letters, numbers, colors? How should I start? I've never worked w/ a preschool class before and I'm really nervous for some reason. I just want to do a good job and make sure the kids are learning. It's a 3-5 year old group, so activities will have to be modified. Some kids will already know the alphabet, colors, numbers, and for some it will be their first experience. PLEASE HELP!!!
    THANKS!!!

3. Seich30

Seich30 Comrade

Jul 19, 2005

I'm doing a color and shape a week for the first 8 weeks of school. We are making collages, matching, sorting, lacing around shapes, etc..

4. buterfly

buterfly Companion

Jul 19, 2005

thanks for the tip. sounds great! any suggestions for modifications for different age levels?

5. ABall

ABall Fanatic

Jul 19, 2005