Anxiety

Discussion in 'Prayer Request Forum' started by Tjd1990, Jan 2, 2017.

1. Tjd1990

Tjd1990 New Member

Jan 2, 2017

I am a second year teacher at a small Christian school. Though my first year of teaching was horrendous, my anxiety is through the roof here in my second year. I would like to quit as I just do not feel at peace being at this school. However, I would feel terrible putting the school in a situation where they would need to find a new teacher. I get nervous and anxious over everything and I just don't know how much longer I can take it. I would so appreciate your prayers for peace and wisdom in moving forward with the year.

3. swansong1

swansong1 Maven

Jan 2, 2017

Many young teachers find it helpful to seek professional help for anxiety issues related to teaching. As you explore this site further, you will see many posts from members who seek help and, perhaps, medications that really help them function more successfully in their job.

In the short term, can you tell us some of the specific issues you are having with your job? The experienced teachers here can give you some helpful ideas.

4. Obadiah

Obadiah Cohort

Jan 3, 2017

I've been concerned that sometimes people misunderstand feelings of stress, often labeling stress as sinful or harmful. Reading through the book of Psalms, one finds that stress is a normal, productive tool. The apostle Paul experienced stress. When he was stoned or beaten, he didn't find the experience pleasant. He even wrote of one particular troubling ailment that he described as a "thorn in the flesh", probably vision loss. Even Jesus experienced stress, and He certainly never sinned. The key is in how we deal with stress.