Announcing pregnancy!

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by msthang444, Mar 3, 2011.

1. msthang444

msthang444 New Member

Mar 3, 2011

I am a high school teacher (LOL almost typed student) and I want a creative way to tell my students I'm pregnant. I was planning on waiting until the gender U/S Mar 29th but don't think I'm gonna make it that long...I'll be 16 weeks Saturday and it's getting a little hard to hide.

I'm a technology teacher and was going to create a "Brady Bunch" type video (because we have 5 other kids) and put baby's sonogram as pic #6, but am tired of hiding behind my hoodie...

Any creative ideas that are appropriate for teenagers?

3. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Mar 3, 2011

You only need to post this in one forum. Many of the members check all the subforums, and it makes it hard when there are duplicate posts.

4. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Mar 3, 2011

Congratulations on your upcoming addition!

Does knowing about your pregnancy benefit your students? Especially when you're talking about using instructional time to make this announcement, I think you might be a little off track. Class time is valuable and should be used to practice lessons and skills. If you want to make a quick, Oh hey..., sort of announcement, I think that's fine. But if you're looking for some big production, I don't necessarily think that that's a great idea.

5. msthang444

msthang444 New Member

Mar 3, 2011

well, they usually do a bellwork, and i was thinking about incorporating it into that.

6. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Mar 3, 2011

Congrats!

Can you show a picture of your family with a question mark where the baby would go?

7. Emily Bronte

Emily Bronte Groupie

Mar 5, 2011

I like Mopar's suggestion. Congrats!

8. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Mar 5, 2011

Congtaulations!