Alternative Education

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by Edugator2016, Jul 8, 2018.

1. Edugator2016

Edugator2016 New Member

Jul 8, 2018

Hi All!

I am getting ready to start my 2nd year of teaching. I went back to school in my 30s and graduated in December 2016, so I'm older than many new teachers. My degree is in agricultural education, so all of my education classes focused on teaching CTE/electives. I tested to be certified in 6-12 English as well, just in case there weren't any ag positions available. Good thing I did, because there weren't. I ended up teaching 8th grade English last year. It didn't go well. Knowing the content is not the same as being able to teach it. Classroom management was a challenge for me as well. I was going to teach science this year, but there were openings for alternative education, so I took one. I'm having trouble finding tips on how to teach these students. Most of the articles I can find on alternative ed, don't seem to be related to behavior. Either that or they just don't use that language when describing why the students are there. In my district, the kids in alternative ed are there because of their behavior in the mainstream classroom. That either means that they got written up too many times or in some cases, they are there after getting arrested and waiting to go to court. I think some are there after one strike for bringing cigarettes, alcohol or drugs to school. The students do their work on an online program; I have a full time para in the room, and classes are capped at 10 students. There will be 3 teachers. One will teach English and history; one will teach science and math, and one will teach electives. I asked to teach electives because of my degree and because I was given the choice. The kids will change classes every 2 hours. The para and I will monitor their progress on the online program and pull kids for one on one or small group instruction and supplementation as needed. I'm looking forward to