Age factor in getting hired in Oregon

Discussion in 'General Education' started by teachersteve, Mar 7, 2017.

1. teachersteve

teachersteve Rookie

Mar 7, 2017

I have already asked if getting hired without my credential would be hard and did not receive a favorable response, even though I am very close to getting the credential. Now I am worried my age may hinder me in getting hired.
    I am 53. I have more 20 years teaching experience mostly overseas where I am now, although I did teach 7th grade English and I have completed my student teaching in grade 3 and 6. I also substituted for a year and a half while taking the credential classes. I am hoping to settle in a rural area in Oregon. I would appreciate any opinions on this. Thanks.

3. vickilyn

vickilyn Phenom

Mar 8, 2017

I can't speak to Oregon, but age should not be a problem, IMHO.

otterpop likes this.
  4. Peregrin5

Peregrin5 Maven

Mar 8, 2017

You'll have a good chance getting hired in a rural area in Oregon. But you will need that credential, and you have to stress to your prospects that you will get it soon after being hired.

otterpop likes this.
  5. teachersteve

teachersteve Rookie

Mar 9, 2017

Peregrin, that is encouraging to hear. Can you please recommend or give me the names of towns in rural places that I can search for openings? One teacher recommended Klamath Falls and I am looking into that, but the more places I can apply at the better.

6. Peregrin5

Peregrin5 Maven

Mar 9, 2017

Here is a spreadsheet of some rural schools. I don't know the area that well, and would rather not post on here the district that I work at.

https://webcache.googleusercontent....a/eligible14/or.xls+&cd=2&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=us

One of the reasons that it's easier to get hired in rural districts however is the high turnover.

7. teachersteve

teachersteve Rookie

Mar 12, 2017