After School Program teacher- serious problems with one student

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Granta_Omega, Jan 5, 2017.

1. Granta_Omega

Granta_Omega Rookie

Jan 5, 2017

*Warning* This is a bit of a lengthy post. I think maybe early childhood educators might have more experience with students like this.

I graduated with an education degree for middle school, but I dropped from the internship due to my autism making it nearly impossible for me to keep up with the curriculum, so I am a graduate student for software engineering. However, I teach at a daycare center while I go to graduate school. I work with kids as young as babies during the day, and after school I pick up kids on the bus.

The first two weeks the class was just really out of control and I had to have a couple meetings and come up with some rules and expectations with them to get order going, and for the most part everything seems to be going smooth, except for one child.

This kid argues and challenges everything you ask him to do no matter how minor, and when I'm doing a lab or an activity for them I specifically state to wait until the end for questions, and he interrupts me every 5 seconds to ask questions anyway. He bullies other kids, one kid specifically gets bullied by him every day. He's a 7 year old boy, and she is a 5 year old girl. I found out from management that his teachers in school tell them that he changes the entire dynamic of the classroom and makes their job more difficult. I haven't been able to do a lot of projects with the group I'd like to, because I know I won't get through it in the little time we have having to yell at him every few minutes, and sometimes it has to be a day when his dad picks him up early before we can do a more complex fun activity as a group.