Advice Please-Asked to Resign-So Many Questions

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by AmericanRose, Jan 28, 2018.

1. AmericanRose

AmericanRose New Member

Jan 28, 2018

A Little Bit About Myself: I am a veteran teacher, who has been teaching secondary school for about seven years. Although, I've taught a bit of everything as a substitute,which I did for two years after graduating from college. I work hard and care about my students more than anything. I do hold them to standards, and if they don't meet the objectives, they fail the class. I teach ELA and Speech. I've taught at two schools: one for three years and the other (current) for four. All of my evaluations and walkthroughs have been exemplary. Also, I've never been fired or laid off from a position (any job) until now.

The Situation: I was called on something but it was a minor infraction. I panicked and initially lied about it. Then, I admitted to it. I do know that it was wrong to lie. I admitted to the whole thing and feel awful. It undermined my relationship with my administration and betrayed their trust-a critical element in education. On one hand, I was told I couldn't be trusted and on the other that they had compassion for me and I had done great things for the school.