Advice for first year daycare teachers

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by erika_2392, Jun 15, 2017.

1. erika_2392

erika_2392 New Member

Jun 15, 2017

So I'm a teacher in training and this is my six week working at this daycare, and I work with the toddlers. The truth is even though I love being with the kids, someday's I just feel so stress and overwhelm that I kind of feel like maybe I'm just not meant to be a teacher.
    I actually studied to be a preschool teacher but somehow I ended up working toddlers. I do love the toddlers but sometimes they just don't listen to me. My coworker would yell at them, and I don't want to yelled at them since I was taught in my child care classes that we shouldn't do that but somehow it seems the only way for them to listen.
    So i need advice, on how to handle all this. Did any of you felt overwhelm during your first time working at a school? Have you ever deal with a coworker like mine that seems to get annoyed if you do something wrong or even ask questions? How can I handle dealing with misbehavior with toddlers?

Last edited: Jun 16, 2017
  3. Preschool0929

Preschool0929 Cohort

Jun 16, 2017

Just a few thoughts....
    -teaching preschool is MUCH different than working with toddlers. If you are feeling stressed and overwhelmed (which is justified), you might want to look for a position working with older children
    -screaming is most definitely not the way to work with toddlers. I'm so sorry that's being modeled for you. I have a toddler and would be livid if I heard his teachers screaming. At that age, redirection is key. Even things like time out really aren't age appropriate. However, my biggest concern is that if you work in a center where screaming at toddlers is acceptable, is this a quality early childhood center? Where is the director or other teachers to provide help when this is happening?