Advice about Observation

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by snowflake24, Apr 12, 2018.

1. snowflake24

snowflake24 New Member

Apr 12, 2018

I am in need of some advice. I feel like I am not being a good teacher after my last observation. I am really deflated. I am a second year teacher who is trying very hard. When I got my scores on my observation they were in my mail box and the other teachers where in their mail boxes. I could not help myself, I wanted to see how I compared with others. I looked at their observations and was totally discouraged because everyone was higher then me. I have talked with the principal about how to fix what he does not like but he goes against what he tells me from different evaluations. I am very frustrated. Any advice and am I a bad person for looking?

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Apr 12, 2018

You should not have gone in other mailboxes :oops:

You can only compare you to you.... have you reflected on your admin's write ups? What do you think you can do to improve?

4. Backroads

Backroads Fanatic

Apr 13, 2018

Well, since you already spied on other people's paperwork...

What notes did you see on those who had scored higher?

futuremathsprof likes this.
  5. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Apr 13, 2018

[​IMG]

6. Leaborb192

Leaborb192 Enthusiast

Apr 13, 2018

They weren't concealed in any way? Did the principal just put a paper with a big RED NUMBER on it and then stick it in the mail box? Isn't that supposed to be private?

Obadiah and Backroads like this.
  7. Backroads

Backroads Fanatic

Apr 13, 2018

Yeah! I was like, wow, mind your business and no protection is not an excuse but... principal, come on!

8. Master Pre-K

Master Pre-K Virtuoso

Apr 13, 2018

Is it, “Needs improvement” or “Does not meet expectations”?

Can you ask your P to sit down with you, and give specific examples of areas that were low?

9. TeacherWhoRuns

TeacherWhoRuns Companion

Apr 13, 2018