Advice about a Life Change

Discussion in 'General Education' started by corunnermom, Nov 3, 2018.

1. corunnermom

corunnermom Rookie

Nov 3, 2018

I love this forum and have received so much good advice!

Currently I am a first grade teacher at a very difficult school. I had to go back to full-time teaching after being away for ten years. I recently got divorced and I could not make ends meet on a paraprofessional's salary. I was a teacher for ten years prior to being a para, so I have experience but teaching has changed quite a bit in ten years. I have already hit burn out...huge workload, being new, very challenging students with Tier 3 behavior issues, new curriculum, etc. I'm a very hard worker and have persevered through some very difficult life experiences, but I've really lowered my expectations at work just to survive. On a personal note, my relationship with my ex-husband has been abusive, even after our divorce. I am very depressed and need to heal and recover. All of my family lives out of state, so I'm completely alone. I have friends, but it's not the same as my sister. So, I have a yucky personal life and I go to a yucky job everyday. I'm considering moving to Minnesota to be with my sister and her family and teach there. However, I'm concerned about burning a bridge with my current school and having a questionable resume. These are my options:
    1. Apply for a third grade long term sub in Minnesota and quit my job in December. Move during Winter Break. Apply for a full-time teaching job in Minnesota for the following year.
    2. Stick out the year and start applying for jobs in Minnesota in March. Move in the summer.
    3. Stick out my current job for the rest of this year and next year and move next summer.

Any advice would be helpful!

3. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Phenom

Nov 3, 2018

Here are some things I would consider.