Admin threw one hecka question at me today

Discussion in 'General Education' started by kellzy, Mar 13, 2018.

1. kellzy

kellzy Comrade

Mar 13, 2018

I've been teaching for 10 years, two years in fifth and the past eight have been in third.
    Basically they called me in and said that they need a strong teacher (yay for the compliment) to sixth grade, then both principal and vice principal stared me down for what was just about the most uncomfortable minute of my life, followed by a 45 minute conversation about how neat sixth grade is (their opinions are slightly biased, as both of them were sixth grade when they were in the classroom).
    The way our district policies have teachers move is by first teacher willingness and volunteers, and second by straight seniority. I am second to top of seniority on my team, so technically I could tell them no and toss that to one of the less senior colleagues on my team (we are losing a teacher on my team: no way around it).
    Here's the dealio: I love sixth grade curriculum. I hate sixth grade hormones. I have been known on occasion to refer to them as 'hormones with feet.' Third grade is my jam, but I much prefer end of year third graders to beginning of the year third graders. It's the independence.
    On the one hand I really don't want to, on the other hand, taking one for the team and making the move gives me one heck of an ace to place right up my sleeve and leave that there until I need it. They've given me a week to make a decision.
    So, here be two questions.
    Question the first is for sixth grade teachers: tell me about it. Pros and cons.
    Question the second: What would you do if you were me.

3. teacherintexas

teacherintexas Maven

Mar 13, 2018

I taught sixth grade one year. The rest of my career has been in second, third, and fourth. I would go work at 7-11 and sell slurpees before going back to sixth.

How did you like fifth?

nstructor, otterpop and Leaborb192 like this.
  4. FourSquare