Additional certifications...?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by CDOR79, Jan 30, 2019.

1. CDOR79

CDOR79 Comrade

Jan 30, 2019

So, I'm looking to grow in my career and open myself up to more opportunities. I've been a teacher in a Catholic school for the past 10 years. I've been trying to get into a public school system but it seems nearly impossible. I have my Master's in Elementary Ed (K-5) and my cert in Special Ed that I obtained 2 years ago. I will be taking my Praxis text for Math to hopefully get my cert to teach Middle School in that subject. I already have the credits for that, so all I have to do is take the test- which is great! I'm looking to maybe enroll in another program to get another cert under my belt but am trying to figure out which one is most "worth" it for me at this time.

My principal is trying to convince me to GO for my principal's cert bc he truly feels I have the qualities to be a good leader. I'm not so sure I'd even WANT that position. I have only been in a Catholic school so I don't even know what it's like to be in public school setting. A part of me feels like I should see what it's like to just be a teacher in that setting first before anything else.

If I did something like earn my principal's cert, I'd obviously want to go somewhere with the most potential and job security- which would be a public school system. So, instead of that, I'm thinking to maybe just START with a Supervisor's Cert since it's less credits and I feel like it'd be "baby steps".Then, there's always an ESL cert, which I know those teachers are in high demand.

Just torn and although I don't even HAVE the money to go back to school, I'm just wondering if I should take advantage of the time and situation right now.

3. vickilyn

vickilyn Guru

Jan 30, 2019